Tags

,

Tortilla Soup

Saute 1 diced onion and 2 cloves of garlic, diced.

Add 2-ish cups of shredded chicken (rotisserie is great).

Optional here is diced zucchini or yellow squash.

Sometimes I’ll add in kale or spinach; this is a very forgiving soup base.

Let cook for about 2 minutes then add:

1 can rotel tomatoes with cilantro and lime

3 cans of black, pinto, or kidney beans (I usually use one of each)

1 cup frozen corn OR one can of corn

1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce

3-5 cups chicken broth, depending on how soupy you like it

(I use water and chicken bouillon)

1 tsp. ground cumin

Cook until the veggies are tender and everything is heated.

No need to cook very long. Serve with (optional) tortilla chips, sour cream, grated cheese and cilantro . (I sneak some cilantro into the actual soup because I  have some kids who wouldn’t have it otherwise).

Recipe from Julie.

 

