Tags

, ,

I wanted to feel more connected with my kids, since they all live so far away from me, so I started sending a text to them every day. I have 9 children, so this is a group text. It has three parts, labeled 1., 2., and 3.

First I send a tip, like: “1. If you have trouble drying your sheets in the dryer, put a couple clean, dry towels in with them. They’ll dry much faster.”

Next I include a quote I like or think they might like, like: “2. “Everyone said to Vincent Van Gogh, “You can’t be a great painter, you only have one ear.” And you know what he said? “I can’t hear you.” Steve Carrell.”

Finally, for those in my family who are interested (or even if they’re not), I send them a religious quote, scripture, or idea, such as: “3. “God is anxiously waiting for the chance to answer your prayers and fulfill your dreams, just as he always has. But he can’t if you don’t pray, and he can’t if you don’t dream. In short, he can’t if you don’t believe.” Jeffrey R. Holland.”  

I do it in that order because the tips are short, and they can just read that part if they want. If they feel like being more inspired, they can keep reading. If they are of a religious bent, they will be inclined to read to the end. That way, there’s something for everyone.

I’ve learned that I have to be careful and let them know that the quotes and ideas sent are not aimed at any one particular person. If I find something I want just one person to hear, I send them a personalized text and tell them it’s just for them.

I’m going to find a place on this blog to help me keep track of the things I’ve sent, because it’s sure hard to remember after everything gets erased from my phone.

